China Paper

I bought more notebooks today, this time from an ‘everything’ shop. If you’re ever in Singapore, pay a visit to one of our housing estates (any one will do, we mostly look the same) and you’ll find at least one of these ‘everything’ shops. They sell everything, and I mean everything. Cotton buds to dig stuff out of your ears, check!  Cheap shampoo made in Thailand, check!  Hardware tools, drills, hammers, nails, check!  LED lights and torches of every size, check!  Some of the bigger ones, like the one near my office, have a stationery section where one can find really cheap pens and notebooks of rather dubious origin.

Which leads me to my buys today:

Plastic covers of European tourist spots (A5 size or so)
Plastic covers of European tourist spots (A5 size or so)
Another A5 size notebook, of VERY dubious origin
Another A5 size notebook, of VERY dubious origin
Plastic covers again, I just liked the pencils (slightly smaller than A4 size)
Plastic covers again, I just liked the pencils (slightly smaller than A4 size)

All four are rather cheap, ranging from S$1.50 to $2.90.  The paper inside is nothing special, rather cheap, yellowish, thin and feels porous.  that’s not dubious.  What’s dubious is…

Huge shoeprint!!
I found a huge shoeprint on the first page of the grey notebook! Erck!!!!

I was planning to use this in the office, looks like now I have to remember to wash my hands very thoroughly after every use.

Leave a Reply

