The weather’s been madly hot and humid these few weeks in Singapore (temperature is a minimum of 95degF every day and night), thanks in part to the major amount of haze that’s blowing in.  So all I’ve really wanted to do was to just sit in front of the ‘puter and vegetate, and just watch youtube video after youtube video.

Until I chanced upon this yesterday. I’m always very inspired by people who manage to fill each and every inch of their Moleskines or Field Notes or Midoris or whichever notebook they’re using at the moment, with just-beautiful illustrations.  Me? I can’t draw a stick-man to save my life.

I do have a Large softcover Moleskine with maps glued in higgedly-piggedly (I use cheapie glue sticks) and tourist stamps* stamped in willy-nilly from my Korea trip last November. I had this notion of filling in my travel stories after getting back to Singapore, but guess what? It’s almost July! ^_^ And my Large 18-month 2012-2013 diary also remains 95% empty.

So hopefully I’ll still be inspired to do something about it. Although right now I’m just inspired to sit in front of the fan and cool down. I think I’ll be less ambitious and stick with Pocket-sized Moleskines for 2014.

* I’m not talking about passport stamps. Tourist stamps are very popular in most parts of Korea, Japan and Taiwan and even Hong Kong, where tourist spots, railway stations and even stationery shops have special stamps or momentos for diary-ing (??) or travel journal junkies. Not sure about other parts of the world though, can anyone advise?

I think even city’super in HK collaborated (??) with Star Ferry for their (SF’s) 115th birthday and if I’m not wrong, @scription (I think most journalling and stationery junkies know him :D) tweeted and instagrammed about a few special tourist stamps made especially for this event. Don’t trust my memory though. I think it was a month or so back, so you’ll have to scroll very hard!

I love collecting them, and having a nice journal to put them in makes them extra special 😛 I know lots of people stamp these in their Midori Travelers’ Notebook, and I’m jealous 🙂

A tourist stamp I got at Haeundae Train Station in Busan Korea
   A tourist stamp I got at Haeundae Train Station in Busan Korea

Gyeongju, a city in Korea with a lot of history, is a tourist hotspot. They give out these stamp 'cards', and you visit each of the 15 'must-see' historical spots and get the stamp from the visitor centre at each spot. I only managed three as I only spent half a day there.
Gyeongju, a city in Korea with a lot of history, is a tourist hotspot. You can get these stamp ‘cards’ from the tourist centres, and you visit each of the 15 ‘must-see’ historical spots and get the stamp from the visitor centre at each spot. I only managed three as I only spent half a day there.
