Inked! 6 Oct 2014

First off, I want to show what happened to the converter that was holding Patton!

oh goodness, tinged red by the muddiness of Patton ink
oh goodness, coloured by the mud from Patton’s uniform!

Onwards with today’s ink, singular. I have not finished most of the pens inked up in the last post 😛 I did say that I do not have much chance at writing a lot at work. By the time I get home, I just want to veg out and watch Youtube fountain pen reviews 🙂

All I cleaned today was the Hero 336 Burgundy and the Hero 372-2.  The 336 has a very tiny capacity for ink, and the cap cannot be too tight, because I notice a tendency for ink to evaporate very quickly. The 372-2 contained Patton ink, which truthfully, I do not like very much because it is too muddy and one-dimensional.

So all I did was to fill up the 336 with another China BBS ink, Radiant Orchid!  It is a pretty ink, but it’s a lot prettier swabbed than written. I expected the written ink to be a lot brighter, which it was not. The paper I use does not help either, as the grid lines are dark.

Radiant Orchid ink - the bottle and a blurry swatch
Radiant Orchid ink – the bottle and a blurry swatch
Radiant Orchid ink - the bottle against the light; still too full for light to catch the colour
Radiant Orchid ink bottle; still too full for light to catch the colour
Radiant Orchid and the Hero 336, exploded
Radiant Orchid and the Hero 336, exploded. Dat ink sac!
Putting the Hero 336 back together. Dat ink sac!
Putting the Hero 336 back together.

My room is rather dark, and so the pictures all turn out greyish. I honestly am a DUD at taking photos and adjusting them for brightness, colours etc, so forgive how horrendous they are. The one below is a writing sample of the Hero 336 + Radiant Orchid ink. I could not brighten the image, as it changed the colour of the ink. Backlighting it seems to show the ink more truly (to my eyes, at least), but sorry if it looks totally odd.

Writing Sample - Hero 336 + Radiant Orchid
Writing Sample – Hero 336 + Radiant Orchid
Leave a Reply

