October Taobao Haul! Pilot 78Gs and stuff

As per the title! But today’s is just a tiny little haul, because I’d spent just a bit too much on the last one (the ink one which I apparently didn’t blog about).

Anyway, onwards with this for now and I’ll settle the inks in another post…hopefully).

A mini October haul from taobao: pen roll, 2 Lucky pens, and 2 Pilots!
A mini October haul from taobao: pen roll, 2 Lucky pens, and 2 Pilots!

First off, a pen roll. It feels even cheaper in the hand, then it looked in the photos, but I needed something that gets the job done. Right now my pens, even the Lamy Safari Neon Coral, just jostle around in a pocket in my backpack. Luckily a colleague gave me a pen holder (faux leather, pigskin, something) so I could put my TWSBI Diamond 580 in it.

cheapie pen roll, nothing much to write about, it does the job
cheapie pen roll, nothing much to write about, it does the job

I’m just loving the whole ‘airmail envelope’ colours of red, white and blue (is there a name for it), which is why I bought this. It’s not even that cheap, after adding shipping; about S$5.

I just love it for the pattern outside
I just love it for the pattern outside

I have this weird love of trawling fountain pen seller sites on Taobao in the hopes of stumbling across a nice antique Hero, but I don’t think it’s going to happen. In the meantime, I just pick up stuff like these 幸福2007 (Lucky 2007) pens. I also have a weird love of cheap fountain pens modeled after classic (expensive) ones.

2 Lucky (幸福) 2007 fountain pens, made in china, nothing special
2 Lucky (幸福) 2007 fountain pens, made in china, nothing special

They have screw caps, which is another one of my weird loves, which is why I picked these 2 up for about S$3 each (after shipping). On the gold ring on the cap, it says 幸福2007 in front, and ‘LUCKY’ at the back. They come with pretty big converters, albeit squeeze types. They fit quite tightly, which is good.

The quality of the pens is questionable as with most MIC pens. The gold “o-rings” you see just on the screw threads of the section (below) aren’t even glued down, which meant I promptly lost one of them after taking the pen apart.

The converters are the same, but with different words etched into them. One says ‘Lucky’ on the squeeze bar, the other ‘幸福’ on the converter body. Otherwise, the pens are just functional. The nibs write very close to the Pilot 78G M nib, although it feathered slightly more (same ink, same paper).

Exploded Lucky 2007s side by side. Big converter.
Exploded Lucky 2007s side by side. Big converter. Questionable QC.

Now comes the star! I’ve been hankering after the Pilot 78G after picking up the Pilot Tank (~S$7) from Mustafa a couple of months ago. Most people don’t, but I do love the gold accents of the 78G, and the colours even more!  They cost slightly more than the Tank (~S$11 after shipping) so I only picked up 2. For now. I’m still drooling over the red one.

Star of the haul: 2 Pilot 78Gs - green and blue-green
Star of the haul: 2 Pilot 78Gs – green and blue-green

Apparently these are ‘fabrique au Japon’, but I believe it’s probably made for the China market or something. I’m not sure how it works though. Typically, only one of the boxes came with the yellow insert/instruction booklet pictured below.

fabrique au japon, apparently
fabrique au japon, apparently

I got the green and the blue-green,but as mentioned, I’m a dud at taking photos, so I can’t pick up the colours accurately. The blue-green you see in the picture above (in the box) is absolutely inaccurate, the acutal colour is a lot more muted.  This filter below was the closest I could get.

I can't get my camera to depict the colours correctly
I can’t get my camera to depict the colours correctly
Wonder why the labels are in chinese even though it claims Made in Japan
Wonder why the labels are in chinese even though it claims Made in Japan

Even though it looks almost exactly like the Tank, only the nibs and feed are exactly the same (as with all Pilot pens under the S$100 mark, as far as I know). The 78G is just a tad heavier and the plastic feels thicker in the hand.

The 78G also comes with a Con-20 squeeze type converter (again as with the cheaper Pilot pens, again AFAIK), while the Tank has a built-in plastic insulation ring, so that you can fill up the entire body with ink, as its name says, like a tank.

Oh, and the 78G is also a screw-on cap (yay) while the Tank closes with a very satisfactory and slightly resistant click which feels very good.

The exploded 78G (blue-green) next to an exploded Pilot Tank
The exploded 78G (blue-green) next to an exploded Pilot Tank

I’ve done some writing with these pens, but can only scan and upload when I get back to the office on Monday!

In the meantime, I hear from the Singapore Fountain Pen Lovers FB group that 7 November is Fountain Pen Day! Happy Fountain Penning! Oh, Straits Pens is also having a FP Day sale on that day for 4 hours ONLY, so be sure to check it out. It probably means that I won’t have a haul this month (sad  face) because I want to buy another TWSBI! ^_^

 

Leave a Reply

