Daily Journaling and Bullet Journaling in One Moleskine for 2015

As previously mentioned, I have been toying with the idea of journalling or diary-keeping, and bullet journalling was a method that I encountered recently.

I tried it out in December, decided that I liked it, and wanted to adapt it in some way that works for my brain. I have also been wanting to journal regularly, so I decided to get a good start in this year.

Just as a caveat, I cannot have too many things scattered around because I am very easily distracted, for example different journals for different purposes. I have tried it before, and it distracted me to the point where none of the journals got used at all.

this is only part of 1 tower of notebooks
this is only part of 1 tower of notebooks

I have also tried different smartphone apps, but being a gadget-y person, I ended up spending more time adjusting settings to my liking, than actual journal or note-keeping.

Here is how I adapted the bullet journal to my brain, and how I keep everything in one journal.

My 2015 bullet journal + daily journal

Moleskine Soft Cover Daily Diary/Planner
The Moleskine Soft Cover Daily Diary/Planner features one day per page

I bought the Moleskine Soft Cover Daily Diary/Planner which features one day per page, because I wanted to force myself to journal everyday this year.  I know Moleskines have a bad reputation, and I am not pleased with the paper quality, but I will go into my reasons in another blog post.

Setting up the Bullet Journal

I had a whole pack of loose-leaf B5 size 26-ring papers that I bought in Taiwan many years ago. The paper quality is really cheap (ie fountain pens are a big nono) but I didn’t want to throw them out, so I decided to cut them into Moleskine (Large) size and tape them in. I did that in December, which I found worked for me, so I decided to go ahead and do it for 2015.

Below, you can see I taped some of these loose-leaf papers with washi and deco tape in between 1 and 2 Jan, and the monthly spread. My experience in December told me that I would not need many pages. This journal is just personal, and I lead a rather quiet life, so there isn’t much going on (as you will see later).

I taped loose-leaf paper into the Moleskine at the start of each month for a short bullet journal
I taped loose-leaf paper into the Moleskine at the start of each month for a short bullet journal

A week into 2015, I realised that I could actually use the Moleskine’s 4-month on a spread view for the bullet journals ‘month-on-a-page’ view, since it is formatted the same way. As I said, I lead a quiet life (not much events) so I don’t need yet another piece of paper for a monthly view.

It can also reduce the number of pages I insert, as the daily Moleskine is pretty thick, and I am afraid it will explode or, at least, unravel (given the made-in-china quality) by mid-year or so.

So below, I transferred the Jan monthly views into the Moleskine monthly view. It works fine, I just have to write slightly smaller, and use a thinner pen than usual.

4 months at a glance. I use this as the bullet journal's monthly view
4 months at a glance. I use this as the bullet journal’s monthly view

I can also use this to set up future months and plan ahead. The bullet journal idea uses collections for future events, but my brain cannot function that way unfortunately.

4 months on a spread. I set up future months with public holidays and other special days, with some minimal colour coding
4 months on a spread. I set up future months with public holidays and other special days, with some minimal colour coding

Here is a glimpse of the January daily spread. As you can see, nothing happens. I go to work and come home on most days. The weekends are slightly busier in January, mainly because Lunar New Year is around the corner, and I have shopping to get done. I also record money spent, but not every single cent, mostly unusual spending, such as a more-expensive-than-usual lunch at a cafe ($21 versus the usual $4 lunch) or if I buy clothes or shoes, or take a taxi.

A view of my January bullet journal daily spread
A view of my January bullet journal daily spread

Doing My Daily Journalling

At the same time, I use this for daily journalling. I have been wanting to do so for some time, after watching so many journalling Youtubers and Hobonichi Techo users etc. I still have to force myself to sit down for 30 minutes a night to do so, but after 2 weeks, I am quite pleased with the results and hope to carry this on.

Daily journalling - I took some inspiration from the various Hobonichi Techo videos
Daily journalling – I took some inspiration from the various Hobonichi Techo videos

It is difficult keeping a journal when life is so quiet, so due to lack of inspiration, I turned to Pinterest for ideas. That is the whole point of Pinterest anyway!! I also took some inspiration from the multitudes of Hobonichi Techo videos and images, and from other art journallers etc.  That being said, I am NOT an artist. I cannot draw to save my life, and I dislike it when the journal is just filled with TOO MANY random things stuck in.  I do like some cute stuff, but too much can BE too much sometimes, so I try to control myself and write as much as possible.  If there are empty spaces, then I fill them in with a few stickers or deco tape.

More daily journalling - I took some inspiration from the various Hobonichi Techo videos
More daily journalling – I took some inspiration from the various Hobonichi Techo videos

Both the daily journal and bullet are being refined as I go along, so there might still be some minor tweaks. Overall I am quite pleased with the system I have right now, and hope to keep it going. I cannot wait to see what this 2015 journal will look like once it’s nicely filled up by June or December.

5 thoughts on “Daily Journaling and Bullet Journaling in One Moleskine for 2015

Leave a Reply

