Journaling: Bullet Journal in a Moleskine Update Mid-2015

Here’s a catch-up since my last post about my bullet journal in a moleskine.

My Bullet Journal in a Moleskine

  • I did really well for January, February and March.
  • I started falling behind in April because of being too busy.
  • Firstly, my schedule got messed up during the week our Mentor Minister and Singapore’s very first Prime Minister, Lee Kuan Yew, passed away.
  • Then I had to scramble for 2 weeks in April to get all my work caught up before, and make plans for, my Korean trip in mid-April.
  • After coming back, and taking a week or so to get back into the zone, I did bullet journaling for another month in May, before finally giving up altogether.
  • I tried my bullet journal style (loose pages tipped into my Moleskine) using a narrower format, trying it out in my fauxdori. You can see the May pages (below) are narrower.
  • It’s inconclusive (I could change) but my writing is too wide for the Midori regular size, which put me off using journals for a while.

And now my confession: I dropped the bullet journaling effort only after 4 months. I am really disappointed in myself for falling behind, and worse, not even updating it here until now.

First here is a look at my March and May bullet journal pages.

My Bullet Journal in a Moleskine – March OverviewMy Bullet Journal in a Moleskine

My Bullet Journal in a Moleskine – still consistent in MarchMy Bullet Journal in a Moleskine

69-P9053733ed-o

My Bullet Journal in a Moleskine – May overviewMy Bullet Journal in a MoleskineMy Bullet Journal in a MoleskineMy Bullet Journal in a Moleskine

My Bullet Journal in a Moleskine – finally giving up the ghost at the end of MayMy Bullet Journal in a Moleskine

Somehow, the bullet journal degenerated into a daily list of what I ate and how much I spent, and I got bored of doing it that way. After the busy month in April, I couldn’t wrap my head again around making notes and points about what happened everyday, however mundane. I also missed the opportunity of using the bullet journal to record ideas, brainwaves or just random thoughts that come to me anywhere and everywhere.

I was also slightly self-conscious about using paper-and-pen while working in a software development house. I always feel that people are viewing it as a strange habit, and in the initial months, there were a few hesitant questions about ‘why don’t you just use an app?’  Is it just me? Does anybody else feel the same?

So after May, I completely gave it up. July was another busy month, as I went on another week’s vacation to Taiwan. This was quite unplanned, but I did manage to use the bullet journal style to record my spending everyday. It’s actually the very first time I managed to capture my holiday spending to an almost accurate number.

It’s September now, and I have made the conscious effort to start bullet journaling again. The thought occurred to me several times in August, and now I am disappointed that I missed many chances to get it started and record what went on in August, because it was fairly busy, but not so much that I wouldn’t have caught up. It’s about time too, seeing as bulletjournal.com just went live on 1st September.

So hopefully, you’ll get to see my September bullet journal updates soon! *fingers crossed*

5 thoughts on “Journaling: Bullet Journal in a Moleskine Update Mid-2015

  1. Great post – loved the raw honest look into how you’re managing your day. Perhaps it’s worth looking into why you wanted to bullet journal in the first place and review whether it’s the right tool for you? I tried BuJo myself but quickly gave it up because my work is honestly a bit much and I found myself spending too much time setting up the lists!

    And hey to me, if you’re enjoying pen to paper and it does make you more productive, go ahead. Syncing calendars don’t always work for me anyway.

    • Thanks for your kind words! You’re right about looking into my reasons for the BuJo. I do find it useful in some ways, by using it as what Ryder Carroll calls it, rapid logging. At the risk of sounding cliched, yes, it does make me slightly more mindful about my day, what I do, what I eat, who I see etc which is good.

      Similarly for me, the BuJo doesn’t work for my work stuff, but I used to do some personal logging during lunch time, which is why. Anyway I don’t quite care, and they’ve gotten used to it 🙂 so it’s well and good.

  2. IT/computer/engineering types may look oddly upon you, but they can respect brainstorming and creativity. I’d just tell them that brain research has clearly demonstrated that pen and paper is the method that engages the brain more than others. Betcha you’ll make a few converts.

Leave a Reply

