September Stationery Favourites

Sometimes I feel that I watch too many Youtube beauty/makeup channels for my own good (since I don’t put on much usually), but I love some of the topics that the makeup gurus come up with.  The monthly favourites is one of them, and since I’m still searching for a proper subject anchor for this blog, I thought I would give it a try and see how we like it.

So, without further ado!

September Favourites by Scribbles and Stationery

a) Pretty Colour Pigment Stamp Pad (Tri-Colour) – S$3.90 from Popular Bookstore, and
c) Micia Crafts Pigment Stamp Pad (Dark Teal) – S$3.60 from Art Friend

As a stationery addict, stamps and ink pads are something that I have always been attracted to. As a kid, I loved them (and libraries) so much that I even persuaded my mum to buy me a date stamp and ink pad so I could play make-believe librarian and do that thumping of date stamps into books being borrowed.

Crisp lines by the Micia stamp ink padI’ve only recently been exploring this world of planner stamps and ink pads, and have been totally confused by the myriad of ink pad types out there. Thorough trial and error, I discovered that pigment ink stamp pads work well for my purposes. I cannot tell you why pigment inks work better than others, I only KNOW that they do.

For the tri-colour, I am especially impressed with the black, but not so the orange and silver. As for the Micia ink pad, there is a VERY good reason why it has made it onto my favourites list despite only being two weeks old. Just look at those crisp lines of the two planner stamps. Maybe I’m easily impressed, but coming from having used very budget-friendly stamp pads, this is a whole new world. I am definitely going back for more.

MT01D165b) MT Masking Tape in Tile Green – S$2.60 from Art Friend or NBC or MT website

The MT tape was purchased at the same time as the Micia ink pad. I have been attracted to these floor tile / mosiac designs since I visited Penang last year. Complex mosiac tile floor and wall designs feature largely in the traditional Chinese architecture still found there, and I am completely in love. I found a number of washi tapes featuring such designs in Tainan, Taiwan (which shares a slightly similar ancestry, but don’t quote me on it) and regret not bringing them back.

Image copyright MT Singapore

d) Black Eraser (lost the packaging) – S$0.90 from DuYi Bookstore
I have been trying to sketch a bit in the journal, in pencil first so I don’t muck it up, and an eraser has come in very handy for this purpose.

Pages in my BuJo written with Pilot G-2 0.38mm blacke) Pilot G-2 0.38mm Black – S$2.00 (or less) from Popular Bookstore or Jetpens

I have been using this almost exclusively for my bullet journaling. This pen is seriously my almost HG gel ink pen, if not for the fact that it comes in fewer colours than my actual HG gel ink pen, and the 0.38mm nib is slightly thicker. The Pilot G-2 has an amazing black black ink that flows continuously without clumping, blobbing, smearing or drying. And it is a clicky pen.

I use the blue one (also in 0.38mm) at work for notes and to-do lists and live in constant fear of it being borrowed and disappearing forever into the hell that office pens perish into.

f) Pilot Metropolitan Black Dots F (inked with Pilot Iroshizuku Kon-Peki 紺碧 ink) – prices vary from Fook Hing Trading or Gouletpens 

Granted I have not been using my fountain pens much, and even then, the Pilot Metropolitan has not seen any action at all, for which I feel really guilty. Because if all my paper and journals and notebooks could take fountain pen and inks, this could well be my HG fountain pen. That nib is fine! Literally!

And as a bonus favourite, the colour of the Pilot Iroshizuku Kon-Peki is the perfect shade of blue/turquoise to die for.

Weekly planner layout by scribblesandstationeryg) Uniball Signo DX UM-151 0.38mm Gel Ink Pen in Brown – S$1.95 from Popular Bookstore or Jetpens

If you haven’t read my post on this AMAZING gel ink pen, go read it, now!

What are your recent stationery favourites? Tell me about them, leave a comment below, or tweet me @scribsnstat

Prices above are stated in Singapore dollars. All items are purchased by, and belong, to me. I am not affiliated with any of the businesses or websites named or linked above and I provide these links only as an alternative shopping destination for your convenience.

Leave a Reply

