Unboxing: Starbucks x Moleskine 2016 Starbucks Planner (Singapore Edition)

Update: Instead of what I originally posted about the planner being on sale only for a week, the Starbucks x Moleskine 2016 Planner (Singapore) is still available at all Starbucks outlets, as far as I know. It should be available at least till the end of the year or while stocks last, is my best guess. I apologize for my initial mistake.

Starbucks x Moleskine 2016 Starbucks Planner (Singapore Exclusive)

Some of you out there (I hope) might be waiting for the third part of my Planning for 2016 series, but there’s a slight glitch in programming today. I have been under the weather since last Thursday all through the weekend. I usually take photos and write posts on weekend mornings, and with a queasy stomach I just could not deal with working through the whole lot of planing and trackers I had for the post.

So my sincere apologies to the one or two people waiting for the post! Pleeease come back next week when regular programming resumes!

In the meantime, since we are talking about planners, I have some pretty images to share with you. I know I just did an unboxing on Sunday, but hey, 2016 is getting closer, and my planners need to be unboxed and (shown off) and put to use.

Presenting the Starbucks x Moleskine 2016 Starbucks Planner (Singapore Exclusive)!

Starbucks x Moleskine 2016 Starbucks Planner (Singapore Edition)

On the outside, it is the standard black Moleskine planner, large size (13 x 21 cm or 5 x 8.25 inches).and with a hard cover. Being a Starbucks x Moleskine special edition, it also comes with a Starbucks card ($0 value though).

The elastic band is nice and tight, which ensure that any loose papers or inserts will stay in there safely.

Starbucks x Moleskine 2016 Starbucks Planner (Singapore Editiion)

I apologise for the terribly out of focus images, but I was just sick enough that I could not be bothered to use the better lens on my camera.

The front of the cover has the Starbucks logo and *2016* embossed on it.

Starbucks x Moleskine 2016 Starbucks Planner (Singapore Exclusive)

The back cover is completely blank except for the words “Starbucks x Moleskine” embossed right at the bottom.

Starbucks x Moleskine 2016 Starbucks Planner (Singapore Exclusive)

The product band that comes with every Moleskine product serves double duty, with the months printed on the inside.

Starbucks x Moleskine 2016 Starbucks Planner (Singapore Exclusive)

The inside of the front cover has the Moleskine logo printed on, and the Starbucks logo(?) pattern printed across the bottom of both pages, which is a nice change.  There is the usual If lost, please return to form on the right.

On the inside of back cover is the usual pocket, and it contains the Starbucks card and the usual piece of Moleskine literature.

Starbucks x Moleskine 2016 Starbucks Planner (Singapore Exclusive)

You get the 2016 and 2017 calendars at a glance, with Singapore public holidays for 2016 printed across the bottom of the page.

Starbucks x Moleskine 2016 Starbucks Planner (Singapore Exclusive)

Then there is a spread with the months (6 months on each page) and the public holidays again. There are a few blank lines per month, which will be good for basic future planning at a glance.Starbucks x Moleskine 2016 Starbucks Planner (Singapore Exclusive)

There are images of Starbucks cafes, coffee growers and coffee makers scattered throughout the planner, with bits of Starbucks history or literature, dividing each section.Starbucks x Moleskine 2016 Starbucks Planner (Singapore Exclusive)

Then comes the main part of the planner, which shows the calendar month layout. Each month takes up a spread (2 facing pages) so there is quite a bit of space to do basic planning in. The months run from December 2015 to December 2016.

Starbucks x Moleskine 2016 Starbucks Planner (Singapore Exclusive)

After the months end, there are some more photos. Then you get a bunch of lined (or ruled) pages (84 pages), blank pages (48 pages) and grid pages (46 pages). The 84 ruled pages divide nicely into 7 pages of planning or journaling space per month. The lines of the ruled pages go all the way, meaning there is no annoying empty space at the top and bottom of each page. *thumbs up*

Starbucks x Moleskine 2016 Starbucks Planner (Singapore Exclusive)Starbucks x Moleskine 2016 Starbucks Planner (Singapore Exclusive)Starbucks x Moleskine 2016 Starbucks Planner (Singapore Exclusive)

The paper used in this planner is nothing to shout about. I have not written in them yet, but they are very thin and don’t feel like they can live up to any form of fountain pen ink. Gel ink pens and ballpoint pens should not pose any problem.

I am not into the monthly calendar layout (as some of you may have already read a thousand times), but there is plenty of space in this one, so I will give it a try this year. There is a good amount of blank pages which is much appreciated. I especially like the grid pages, because I find grid notebooks a fairly difficult product to procure.

The Starbucks x Moleskine 2016 Monthly planner is marked as *Exclusively for Singapore*, but I think it’s more of a Singapore ‘edition’, because only Singapore public holidays are printed in it. It’s not quite as *exclusive* as you might think it is.

Starbucks x Moleskine 2016 Starbucks Planner (Singapore Exclusive)

Which means the cost of S$38.90 is rather prohibitive, because it is quite a bit mroe than the standard Moleskine Monthly Notebook (~$27 online). You could also top up your existing Starbucks card with $50, and then buy the planner for $28.90. But I got a friend to buy it for me, and she didn’t have my card, so I asked her to just buy it at retail price.

The planner was apparently only sold for a week here in Singapore, which is rather odd. Is it really that exclusive? Another friend has been buying the Starbucks planner for a few years, and she reported back that the planner never gets sold out anyway.

I’m curious which other countries Starbucks released a Moleskine planner in. If you managed to buy one, please let me know in the comments below, or on Twitter @scribsnstat.

14 thoughts on “Unboxing: Starbucks x Moleskine 2016 Starbucks Planner (Singapore Edition)

  1. This only comes with a monthly planner and a bunch of journalling pages? So does that mean that the journalling pages are for us to organise our weekly planner ourselves? I’ve been considering getting either the Starbucks Moleskine planner or an ordinary Moleskine planner. Preferably with both monthly and weekly planners.

    • Yes, it’s only the 12 months monthly calendars, and then blank (grid/lined) pages. You can try out the Moleskine Weekly or Daily diaries, if you prefer to have the layout already done.

  2. I’m also going back to the Philippines at the end of the year so I’m still deciding on where I should get my planner one if I were to get the Starbucks x Moleskine one.

  3. I’m from the Philippines but i decided to get the Singapore edition Statbucks planner since I was there last week. It’s still available at Starbucks One Fullerton.

    • Jaqcosme, yes you’re right. I finally went to a Starbucks last week, and saw it still on sale. My mistake for the miscommunication. Thanks for letting me know too! Hope you enjoy it 🙂

  4. Are there empty pages (ruled/grid/blank) between each monthly calendar …. [Jan] empty pages [Feb] empty pages … etc. or are they 12 months straight and empty pages at the back?

Leave a Reply

