Review: Pilot Hi-Tec-C Coleto 5 Color Multi Pen

I mentioned this Pilot Coleto a couple of months ago in my post about my Taiwan stationery haul. Click in to read my initial impressions of it and of multi-pens in general.

28-P7253643-o

I have grown to like it very much and now use it regularly in my Moleskine Daily Journal, so I figured a review is in order.

It’s not surprising that I would like it, given the fine nibs it comes with. What surprised me is what I read on the Jetpens description, that it actually is another incarnation of the Pilot Hi-Tec-C, which used to be one of my favourite needle-point pens! I had no idea.

The needle-points were a great substitute for drafting or drawing pens, which I needed in drafting class. I only stopped using the Hi-Tec-Cs because I kept bending or even breaking the needle-points (yes I am that rough), and they were just too expensive for a student.

What really attracted me was the body, a white/clear body that could house up to 5 nibs! Now before this I had never taken any note or did any kind of shopping for Coletos, so I just got it based on looks.

The top and bottom of the body is mostly clear, although the bottom has two pieces of rubberized translucent grips surrounding most of it. The middle of the body is white, and has the words ‘5’ ‘coleto’ and 5 diamonds representing the 5 nibs.

I thought that the pen would be too thick to hold comfortably, but so far I find it okay. I don’t hold it for overlong periods of time though. But I can’t imagine it will be comfortable if you are taking notes in class continually for anything more than 20 minutes. The rubberized grip keeps the pen from becoming slippery or hard to hold, although mine turned slightly yellow after long periods of use.

The cap at the top of the pen flips open to reveal the five spaces where the refills go. I admit, when I first tried, I had NO idea how or where to refill the pens, Stumped by the technology of a pen. Thank goodness for Jetpens and their Youtube channel.

The springs already come loaded in the pen body, so flip open the top and then all you have to think about is which order to load your refills in.

Pilot Hi-Tec-C Coleto 5 Color Multi Pen by Scribbles and Stationery

Pilot Hi-Tec-C Coleto 5 Color Multi Pen by Scribbles and Stationery

The clip is clear plastic and the name ‘PILOT HI-TEC-C coleto’ is printed on it in white letters. The pen clip is not very tight, but should be able to clip on to a pocket comfortably. I think the important thing about the clip of this pen is that it acts as the hinge of the flip top.

Pilot Hi-Tec-C Coleto 5 Color Multi Pen by Scribbles and Stationery

My refills are in Blue-Black, Brown, Clear Blue, Orange and Cherry Pink (so pretty!), all in 0.3mm. The colours are very pretty and colours that I use in my journaling as those of you of have seen some of my journaling posts have seen.

The Brown is a little on the red side, when compared with my Signo DX UM-151 Brown, but without comparison, it still stands on its own as a very clear legible brown. I love the Blue-Black and Cherry Pink colours. You can already tell that from the height of the inks below (ha). The Clear Blue is a tad lighter than I would have liked, so light that sometimes it makes it a bit hard to read. The Orange (not yellow! I was too enthusiastic adjusting the photo below!) is a typical orange that I like, bright and legible, but I do have a number of orange pens to choose from.

I did not put much thought into buying the refills; I just bought the colours that I liked or felt that I would use often.  Now after using it for some time, I find it convenient to have multiple colours on hand in just one pen. If you use multiple colours for journaling or planning etc, it’s great not to have to bring a full arsenal of different gel ink pens in a huge pencil case.

Pilot Hi-Tec-C Coleto 5 Color Multi Pen by Scribbles and Stationery

Given that the refills are 0.3mm, they can be a bit sharp on occasion. On the Moleskine, there is not very slight ghosting and no bleed-through at all. However, because of the sharpness (and because I press hard while writing), you can see the indents extremely clearly. I don’t mind that at all, although it might be an issue for some.

The next time I get refills, I might go one step higher on the nib size. According to Jetpens, the next step up is 0.4mm, so those might be my choice when I search for refills next.

The gel ink refills write amazingly smoothly, although being 0.3mm, there is a small tendency to scratch. You don’t get any blobs or stops, and can just keep on writing forever.

If you are forgetful like me, the nib sizes are indicated on the plastic tips of the refills.Pilot Hi-Tec-C Coleto 5 Color Multi Pen by Scribbles and Stationery

Per the Jetpens store, this 5-refill body comes in 5 colours. The Coleto bodies comes in 2, 3, 4 or 5 refills.

Pilot Hi-Tec-C Coleto 5 Color Multi Pen by Scribbles and Stationery

image courtesy of Jetpens

For the refills, it seems there are 10 colours for the 0.3mm and the 0.4mm, available in black, red, blue, green, violet, pink, orange, clear blue, blue-black, and brown.

In Singapore, I believe the pens and refills are available in Tokyu Hands, but I don’t recall seeing them anywhere else. Online, you can obviously get them at Jetpens.com

One thought on “Review: Pilot Hi-Tec-C Coleto 5 Color Multi Pen

Leave a Reply

